A year of change

Posted on August 16, 2012

0


This is it…it’s the year 2012 and the end of the world is near (or it is if you believe the Mayan Calendar predicts the end of the world rather than just that the celestial cycle repeats and starts over again). I personally don’t buy into that theory. What I do buy into is that this year has been, I don’t know, different? Although different doesn’t even begin to describe it.

As far as my life is concerned, I have now dubbed this the “Year of Change”. And to borrow a line from the Mika song Any other world, “Say good-bye to the world you thought you lived in”. The way this year has shaped up it’s not the end of the world, but it does seem to be, a least for me, the end of the world as I knew it. The year of 2012 has been year of change: constant, mercurial, rapidly evolving and devolving. And now I am faced with my own mortality. Not in my own life and death, but in my father. He started chemo therapy today for a Stage III, non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

Cancer…
Lymphoma…
Tumors…
Malignancy…
Chemo…
Radiation…
Survivability…..

It’s one thing knowing intellectually that you and your parents will die some day. But this…
this is more immediate.
It’s in your face.
It’s real.
It’s scary.
It’s not “some grey day” in the future.

According to the oncologist, it is curable.
It is survivable.
We are taking it one day, one week at a time.
We are giving whatever support and helping out however we can.

