The Mayan Prophecy Variant

Posted on December 29, 2012

0


I’ve been meaning to write this post for a week now but so many things have transpired, Christmas among them, and this is my first chance to sit down and really put my thoughts down.
It started on 21 Dec, or, the “End of the World” based on some people’s interpretation of the Mayan Calendar. It was, to me, the end of the world as I knew it. It was 1:30 PM when the oncologist said  my father’s lymphoma had returned in less than a month.
The oncologist said it was “refractory non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma” and that it was not treatable.
The oncologist said that any treatment would only buy him time, maybe 6 months, maybe a year.
The oncologist said without treatment it was a matter of weeks.

I remember staggering to my car, knees and legs weak, barely able to stand.
I remember talking everything over with my brother, my wife and my brother’s wife and reaching the difficult decision to refuse treatment.

The Mayan Prophecy was being fulfilled in that the world changed drastically for me that day.

It is now one week since the world changed. It’s been a week mostly filled with hospice.
It’s been a week watching confusion reign. Watching memories fade.
It’s been a week talking and communicating with the dead.
It’s been a week of family saying good bye while he still remembers them
It’s been a week filled, with RN’s, PCT’s and doctors.
It’s been  a week filled with pain and medications like Hydrocodone and morphine.
It’s been a week that started with him energetic, chatty and has ended with him being mostly unresponsive and unconcious which is a blessing.
 
It’s been a week with me at his side as much as possible.

It’s been a week of love

It’s been a week where, somehow or other, there was a Christmas.

